I Mina Trentai Tres Na Liheslaturan Guåhan Resolutions Log Sheet

						Committee			
						/	PUBLIC	DATE	
				Date of	Date	Ofc	HEARING	COMMITTEE	
Resolution No.	Sponsor	Title	Date Intro	Presentation	Referred	Referred	DATE	REPORT FILED	Date Adopted
	Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.	Relative to congratulating the Filipino Ladies	05/23/16	05/27/16					05/27/16
		Association of Guam on the occasion of the 50th Miss	12:32 p.m.	7:00 p.m.					
		Sampaguita Coronation and to commending and							
		further extending an Un Dångkolo na Si Yu'os Ma'åse'							
384-33 (COR)		to the Coronation Ball organizing committee and the							
		2016 FLAG Executive Officers and Board of Directors							
		for your service and countless contributions to the							
		island community and all the people of Guam.							

I MINA'TRENTAI TRES NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2016 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 384-33 (COR)

Introduced by:

Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr. <u>R. J. Respicio</u> T. C. Ada V. Anthony Ada FRANK B. AGUON, JR. Frank F. Blas, Jr. B. J.F. Cruz James V. Espaldon Brant T. McCreadie Tommy Morrison T. R. Muña Barnes Michael F.Q. San Nicolas Mary Camacho Torres N. B. Underwood, Ph.D. Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to recognizing and congratulating the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam (FLAG) on the occasion of the Fiftieth (50th) Miss Sampaguita Pageant Coronation; and to further extending *Un Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse'* to the Coronation Ball organizing committee and the 2016 FLAG Executive Officers and Board of Directors for their service and countless contributions to the island community and the people of Guam.

1BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I2MINA'TRENTAI TRES NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

3 WHEREAS, the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam (FLAG) was established 4 fifty-five (55) years ago in 1962, with the mission of building camaraderie and

1 cultivating relationships among its membership, all while enhancing their connections 2 in friendship with the people of Guam; and

3

WHEREAS, FLAG also aims to preserve the cherished traditions of the 4 Philippines and enhance the positive image of Filipinos and Filipino-Americans 5 through promoting civic, social, and moral welfare on Guam; and

6 WHEREAS, since its founding, FLAG has become one of Guam's most notable civic organizations who have made vast contributions toward building a 7 8 community of respect and love with Guam and her residents, providing support and 9 service with its many notable projects in strengthening the health, recreation, 10 education, humanitarianism and safety for the island; and

11 WHEREAS, FLAG's founding members include Bea Macaraeg, Ligaya Fruto, 12 Fe Lamorena, Juling Illarmo, Mona Young, Josephine Diaz, Pacita Abelardo, Tinay 13 Gamboa, Connie Pabalinas, Mercedes Edwina Jose, Polly Amistad, Carmina 14 Schnabel, Remedios Gabriel, Teresita Sison, Teresing Salvador, Josephine Diaz, Carmen Dela Cruz, Connie Tolentino, Candy Ilagan, Luz Aquino, Ginny Godoy, 15 Mely Pengson, and Virgie Simmons; and 16

WHEREAS, FLAG is celebrating the Fiftieth (50th) Anniversary of the Miss 17 Sampaguita program, their signature fundraising event, which has enabled the 18 19 organization to provide support and services for numerous community projects and 20 charities such as, but not limited to: the construction and renovation of the Sampaguita 21 Pavilion at *Ypao* Beach; the construction of a bus shelter in Upper *Tumon*; a welcome 22 sign at the University of Guam; assistance in the construction and renovation of the 23 revolving Santo Papa Statue in Hagåtña, the Santa Marian Kamalen Park in Malesso, 24 and the Heroes Memorial at Skinner Plaza; and most notably, they have raised funds 25 for University of Guam scholarships and assistance to other charitable organizations

on Guam and in the Philippines with its extended assistance to other countries in times
 of natural disasters; and

WHEREAS, FLAG will celebrate and observe the crowning of the Fiftieth (50th) Miss Sampaguita on Friday, May 27, 2016 at the Pacific Star Resort and Spa, where the highlight of the event will be announcement of the winner from among the candidates, namely: Miss Joy Raiukiulipiy, Miss Dolche Omlang, and Miss Simiko Jesstyne Alteros; and

8 WHEREAS, with the help of their parents and sponsors, these candidates are to 9 be commended for their generosity in supporting the mission and objectives of the 10 FLAG in their time, talents and treasures that they share with FLAG and the island 11 community; and

WHEREAS, the Coronation Ball organizing committee for this golden event is
led by Leony Ronquillo, and co-chaired by Lorie Castello; and

WHEREAS, the 2016 Officers of FLAG are: President Annie V.T. Gozum Soto, Vice President Leony Ronquillo, Recording Secretary Elizabeth San Nicolas,
 Corresponding Secretary Celia Casem-Martinez, Treasurer Cristina Bansil and
 Assistant Treasurer Gloria Baguinon; and

WHEREAS, the Officers of FLAG are guided and assisted by the FLAG Board
 of Directors: Lorie Castelo, Lucy Garcia, Aurora Leonen, Claire Manglona, Carmella
 Merritt, Nilfa Milan, Aida Miranda, Maritess Sotto, Sabina Tamondong and Shirley
 Trinidad; now therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina'Trentai Tres Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, recognize and congratulate the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam (FLAG) on the occasion of the Fiftieth (50th) Miss Sampaguita Pageant Coronation; and does further extend *Un Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse'* to the 2016 Coronation Ball 1 organizing committee and the 2016 FLAG Executive Officers and Board of Directors

2 for their service and countless contributions to the island community and the people of

3 Guam; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mrs. Annie V.T. Gozum-Soto, President of FLAG, and to the Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, *I Maga'låhen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTAI TRES NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 27TH DAY OF MAY 2016.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D. Speaker

RORY J. RESPICIO Chairperson, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary





0

Notes:

I Mina'trentai Tres na Libeslaturan Guåban • 33RD Guam Legislature www.guamlegislature.com • 155 Hesler Place, Hagåtña, Guam 96910 www.roryforguam.com • email; cor@guamlegislature.org • Tel; (671)472-7679 • Fax: (671)472-3547

COMMITTEE VOTING SHEET

Resolution No. 384-33 (COR) – Dennis G. Rodriguez - "Relative to recognizing and congratulating the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam (FLAG) on the occasion of the Fiftieth (50^{th}) Miss Sampaguita Pageant Coronation; and to further extending *Un Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse'* to the Coronation Ball organizing committee and the 2016 FLAG Executive Officers and Board of Directors for their service and countless contributions to the island community and the people of Guam."

	SIGNATURE	DATE	то адорт	TO NOT ADOPT	TO ABSTAIN
Senator Rory J. Respicio Chairperson					
Senator Thomas C. Ada Vice-Chairperson	E-vote	5/24	V		
Speaker Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D. Member	E-Vote	5/24	V		
Vice-Speaker Benjamin J.F. Cruz Member	E-vote	5/24	V		
Legislative Secretary Tina Rose Muña Barnes Member	E-vote	5/24	V		
Senator Frank B. Aguon, Jr. Member	E-Vore	5/24	L		
Senator Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr. Member	ar	5/24	V.		
Senator Michael F.Q. San Nicolas Member	E-Vote	5/24	Vi		1/2
Senator Nerissa B. Underwood, Ph.D. Member	E-rote	5/24	V		X
Senator V. Anthony Ada Minority Leader	E-Vote	5/24	4		
Senator Mary Camacho Torres Minority Member					

For Sponsor's Office Use Only
Sponsor Signature:
Staff Contact Person:
For COR/Clerk's Office Use Only
Certified Returned
Name: V- WVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVV
Date: 5772016